Colorado Springs Local Gardening Directory

    Herb Garden ATR CenterWhile it’s not quite time to start planting outdoors, now is a good time to start planning your Spring garden and planting indoor seedlings for garden vegetables that may need extra growing time (like pumpkins or watermelon). On the other hand, you may be concerned about conserving water or you may just want the most hands-off landscaping you can get!

    Whatever your gardening desires may be, we’ve put together a list to help inspire, plan, design, and maintain your yard and garden this year. We’ve also included a list of a few local places that can help answer questions and supply you with all your gardening needs.

     

    FLOWER AND VEGETABLE GARDENING

    Colorado Plants – http://www.coloradoplants.org/
    Hardiness Zones – http://planthardiness.ars.usda.gov/PHZMWeb/
    Denver Botanic Gardens – http://www.botanicgardens.org/
    BHG Inspiration – http://www.bhg.com/gardening/design/styles/rustic-garden/
    BHG Garden Planner – http://www.bhg.com/gardening/garden-plan-finder/
    Farmer’s Almanac – http://www.almanac.com/gardening/planting-dates/CO/Colorado%20Springs

     

    XERISCAPE/LOW- MAINTENANCE GARDENING

    COS Utilities – https://www.csu.org/Pages/xeriscapebasics.aspx
    Colorado Waterwise – http://coloradowaterwise.org/
    Drought-Resistant Plants – http://www.houselogic.com/home-advice/plants-trees/plants-that-dont-need-water/?cid=eo_sm_pin_mxm-social

    Gardening Golashes Hat Logo

     

    LOCAL NURSERIES AND EXPERTS

    Harding Nursery – http://www.hardingnursery.com/
    Phelan Gardens- http://www.phelangardens.com/
    Rick’s Garden Center – http://www.ricksgarden.com/
    Good Earth Garden Center – http://www.goodearthgardencenter.com/
    Heidrich’s Colorado Tree Farm – http://www.coloradotreefarmnursery.com/
    Summerland Gardens – http://www.summerlandgardens.com/

     

    CLASSES & EVENTS

    Pikes Peak Urban Gardeners – http://www.ppugardens.org/
    Horticultural Art Society – http://hasgardens.org/
    Falcon Garden Club – http://www.falcongardenclub.org/
    Western Landscape Symposium – http://pueblo.colostate.edu/hor/wls.shtml

     

    LOCAL GARDENING CLUBS

    http://www.coloradogardening.com/garden_clubs.htm

     

    EL PASO COUNTY MASTER GARDENER HELP DESK

    http://elpasoco.colostate.edu/hort/hort.shtml

     

    And if you need more inspiration, the Denver Botanic Gardens has regular Free Days! Below is their 2016 Free Day schedule:

    Saturday, March 19 (World Water Day)
    Sunday, April 3
    Thursday, June 23
    Tuesday, July 26
    Wednesday, Sept. 14
    Friday, Nov. 11 (Winter Gift Market) 
    Saturday, Nov. 12 (Winter Gift Market)

    Trackback from your site.

    Leave a Reply